If you’ve found this page, then you must be wondering what I do with all your information when you make contact with me. Don’t worry, I am now going to tell you what info I have on you, what happens with it, and what you can do if you don’t want me to keep you on my records…
The data I collect from you
So. The information I hold about you is as follows: Your name, so I know what to call you instead of referring to you as lovely, chicken or sweet; your email address so that I can send you information, contracts, and your gallery of pictures after; your mobile number so I can get hold of you if I get lost on the way to your wedding or photoshoot location or just need to speak to you in person; and your address (as I send your photos sometimes if I cannot hand deliver). Without this I wouldn’t be a very good photographer, as I wouldn’t be able to keep my end of the deal going.
How I collect and store this data
At some point you will have given me all these details, as my crystal ball is currently undergoing maintenance. If you have used the contact form on my site, it pops into my Studio management software which is closely guarded by a three-headed devil dog (OK, so really it’s Willow and a superb password). If you book with me (and of course you have 😉 ) then you get transferred into StudioNinja. I don’t like to have paper records, so everything will be scanned into here where possible. I can only access StudioNinja from my PC and my laptop using the special software.
Side note about social media and blogs
Right of confirmation, access, rectification and erasure
I only record the things you have told me, so you’ll have a fair idea of what I have on you anyway. If you would like to see your info, please send me an email and I’ll happily send you what I have. If anything is wrong, you can let me know and I’ll record the new details which I’ll probably need if you want me to keep in touch, or if you want me to delete your details I can certainly do this, but be aware that this is probably a bad idea before I work for you! Once I’ve done what you want me for then you are more than welcome to discard me like old rubbish. However, if you have an online gallery you will no longer be able to access this, because you know, email address.
Your data will live with me for around 6 years if you’ve made a purchase, as your invoices and payments will be recorded on your client file in StudioNinja. If you haven’t booked with me then I’ll remove your details after around 6 months, although I may contact you first just to make sure you don’t want me.
Using your data
I’m only going to use your contact details for just that – contacting you. It’ll be about your appointment, or your order, or just for a follow up chat if I’m feeling lonely. Not that this happens often because Harold won’t let me, being a demanding 2 year old he’s more likely to be the one to call you.
Your details don’t leave my possession, unless it’s absolutely necessary to give your phone number to a second shooter on your session day in case we lose each other. I won’t send you oodles of spam, I just don’t get that sort of time to sit and write stuff, so you’ll hear from me maybe 4 times a year.
I’ll ask you to fill in some questions for me about your shoot sometimes; this stays on my computer or if it must be printed, then it lives in my office in a secure folder. These questions are very helpful to me but it’s entirely your choice if you answer them, and if you change your mind later they can disappear at your request.
I occasionally like to enter photos into competitions (because who doesn’t like to win!) but I will only do this if you have given me your permission to do so, which is with the consent to use your photos for social media and advertising if you’ve given it to me.
Now, photos are a bit of a funny old area, because although they are your data in the form of your face, they are also the product which you have purchased. I won’t use your photo without you letting me, but this also applies the other way too. If a third party does happen to want a copy of your photo, i’ll let you know. But if you want to sell your photo, you also need to let me know.
Your photos are immensely important to the running of my business, because if people cant see my work they won’t want to book me (you’ll have looked at the photographs on here and social media before you thought about getting in touch right?). I’m not mean, I do give you the option NOT to have your pics used, but this makes me sad 🙁 Not everyone wants to be internet famous so it’s perfectly fine if you decide you feel a bit shy, or just want to retain your privacy. I make a habit of asking if you would be happy for me to use your photos before I do, and it’ll only be after your wedding/event/shoot that they will be used. Just a little point, if it’s wedding photos it’s down to you to get permission from your guests, as I won’t have their details to ask them.
So, what happens to all those lovely digital images? They live on an encrypted hard drive, (actually two, as they are backed up) on a password protected computer in a secure room in a house that has CCTV and a guard dog. Your online gallery will only be live for up to 30 days, after this the images are removed therefore will not be stored on the gallery provider (this could be either ShootProof or Pixieset).
The photos that you purchase, or that are used for advertising, will be retained indefinitely, so that I can prove ownership if they are stolen (copyright). Any that aren’t used will be deleted after 6 months to free up space on the hard drives, so make sure you have made all your purchases by this time at the latest or I cannot help you after that!
So there you have it, if you have any questions then drop me an email using the contact page… I won’t sell your details if you do this, I promise! If you think there is a problem with how I’m handling your data and isn’t fixed by speaking to me, you can contact ICO at https://ico.org.uk/.